First Shots with new bigma.

EdinburghGary

Reply not Report
Name
Gary
Edit My Images
Yes
Rather than create a new thread, I have posted my first ever bigma shots (at least with a working lens :) ). All handheld, a lot of focal lenghths. Was mostly an overcast day too, was tricky to get shutter speed fast enough. I have no real knowledge of birds, I think the white ones are doves though.

2580962068_7ce6805896_o.jpg

2580117831_c34c8f603c_o.jpg

2580867442_63741eaaf2_o.jpg

2580039489_90747a6976_o.jpg

2580936082_dbc4104c70_o.jpg

2580904326_9a31ffb271_o.jpg

2580867642_514402be98_o.jpg

2580935900_5d37cc2def_o.jpg

I can see this is going to take a lot of patience, its a very heavy lens and getting the ISO down with a decent shutter speed at 500mm hand held is going to be hard! :)

I know there are a lot of tosh shots above, hence no new thread.

Gary.

Original post below:

Hya,

Just been playing with my new Sigma 50 to 500mm on the D3 and I am having a strange problem.

I have a tree in my garden, 15ft away. If I keep the bigma at 50mm, I cannot get it to hunt for the tree, or if it does hunt, it seems very happy with a super soft image - it really to me seems completely out of focus.

I need to zoom in to at LEAST 200mm, and THEN it starts to focus I feel.

I had it out and about too, and at 50mm, it seems it would not focus on anything, close or far.

Normal? I have it on Single Servo (have also tried C).

Also at 50mm, it seems that sometimes it wont fire the shutter at all as the AF has not been able to lock on in single servo mode.

It seems to me, the minimum distance I need to be from an object at 50mm is far greater than needed at 500mm...

Gary.

I would say, might be a pain, but focus it at 200mm+ then just zoom back to 50mm so it will still be in focus, thats what i do on all my zooms ...

Are you sure it doesn't have a focus limiter switch? I know some Sigma lenses do, dunno about the Bigma.