First shots with Sigma 105mm

Name
Stephen
Edit My Images
Yes
I took delivery of a Sigma 105mm + 1.4 teleconverter. Here are some of the better ones. Feedback welcome.

Also IDs required please

One

DSC_8548.JPG

Two

DSC_8575.JPG

Three

DSC_8621.JPG

Four

DSC_8625.JPG

I think your just missing the focus points on these, sorry can't help with ID's.

I think your just missing the focus points on these, sorry can't help with ID's.

Yeah it was particularly windy, which resulted in a lot of blurry images but despite the conditions, I am pleased with the ones that made the cut. Thanks for feedback - always appreciated

A couple more

Five

DSC_8650.JPG

Six

DSC_8669.JPG

Any better focus wise?

And what is the red thing?

I think your 2 main problems are the focus needs to be on the eyes then anything else that goes soft with DOF isn't so bad but I think you need to open up apature slightly to get just a little less DOF so the whole of the insect is in focus. I'm not a Macro expert but prefer the whole of the subject in focus.

I think your 2 main problems are the focus needs to be on the eyes then anything else that goes soft with DOF isn't so bad but I think you need to open up apature slightly to get just a little less DOF so the whole of the insect is in focus. I'm not a Macro expert but prefer the whole of the subject in focus.

Thanks for the advice, I generally used F9 with a fast shutter speed. Not sure if that is the desired settings but I will experiment with these on my next outing. The wind was a killer at times though I cant say for sure if that played a part in the out of focus bodies.

However, it does seem to be an issue with many other peoples macro shots where as you say, the eyes are captured well but the rest is slightly out of focus. Practise continues:)