Critique Floodlit photos

Name
Lee Parker
Edit My Images
Yes
Any pointers, Ladies and Gents?

Haven't used any noise reduction, would that normally be a no no if you were trying to get them published??

Buxton V Frickley 665 by leeparker1968, on Flickr

Buxton V Frickley 503 by leeparker1968, on Flickr

Buxton V Frickley 335 by leeparker1968, on Flickr

Stocksbridge V Leek Town 27 by leeparker1968, on Flickr

Stocksbridge V Leek Town 61 by leeparker1968, on Flickr

Stocksbridge V Leek Town 7 by leeparker1968, on Flickr

Stocksbridge V Leek Town 73 by leeparker1968, on Flickr

Stocksbridge V Leek Town 88 by leeparker1968, on Flickr

I'm not an expert on what is suitable for publication, Lee, but these look like they need a bit of PP to get them looking a little more professional.
I've just put "Stocksbridge V Leek Town 27" through my normal PP and it does scrub up quite well....and more so in B&W

I'm also guessing that it'd had a fair bit cropping too....the uncropped shots look markedly better (as would be expected)

Bob

Cheers Bob, they've had a bit of PP, but only brightness and contrast. Was wary of doing too much as it increased an already noisy picture. I was trying to get some sort of idea about NR and whether it's worth it/accepted?

Thanks for the reply.

....I was trying to get some sort of idea about NR and whether it's worth it/accepted?
As you can see from Bazza's edit, there's a huge improvement when you perform some NR....makes what starts out as a "snap" into something very much more worthwhile.
It's a challenge knowing how much noise to remove balanced against any detail loss that results from the process. When you're shooting near the usable Iso limit of the body then you can often gain a little by using custom white balance (in artificial lighting) rather than let the camera guess and subsequently adjust in PP (assuming that you capture in raw).

Bob