Focus point help

Tethered and focussing on moving car numberplate ...been getting some strange looks ..lol

When testing, is the difference noticeable when you +/- the MA 1 by 1 using that method and roughly what distance are you shooting them from.

Thanks for the help ;)

Hi. I sometimes get the same problem as Kelly. On my 50D I use back button focussing, AI servo, centre point. However, it does seem that it takes a second for the focus to lock on, so I'm trying to get ahead of the game, as it were, and give myself that extra second so the focus can lock on. Plus there's the shutter lag, which means you have to fire just before the action hits its peak. Its a reall nuisance when the ref or someone comes between the lens and the action, the focus re-locks. I'm still learning all this, every match is a different challenge.

When testing, is the difference noticeable when you +/- the MA 1 by 1 using that method and roughly what distance are you shooting them from.

Thanks for the help ;)

I use the distance I'm likely to use at a game. Then see how that setting works at different distances...but this is also a good read.

http://www.canon.co.uk/Images/EOS 1D MK IV AF guide_tcm14-721275.pdf

Have a look here Alex and read this thread thoroughly.

http://slikimages.com/2010/02/rugby-union/finding-the-limits-of-the-canon-1d-mark-iv-autofocus/

I hope Tobers doesnt mind..lol

sorry for the big delay replying....I missed it altogether

I think I changed too many settings and although tried to get them all back I do have one annoying problem ...yes just one...that when I point and half press for focus on Object A ... if Object B is brighter and closer to me..it will focus on that ... whats that all about?

Sounds like you've got more than one AF point selected.

Though you've said yourself, you only had one point selected, so god knows, maybe canon are crap afterall :D