Football photography past and present

Photodiva

Foot elevated on the stool
Name
Carol
Edit My Images
Yes
I was watching football on ESPN classic last nite (yeah, really struggling to find something vaguely interesting to watch on Sunday evening), a 1970 Brazil v England match. It was interesting to compare (1) the quality of the film (dirty marks on lens, poor quality reproduction compared to what we are used to now), and (2) the advertising, none of those horrid dancing adverts, just 'National Westminster Bank', 'Mothercare', 'Martini'. I was also looking at the photographers clustered around the pitch. Most were sitting on the ground behind the goal line. All with film cameras, naturally. None with anything like the 400mm we are used to seeing today.

Do any of the 'veterans' here recall shooting film for football, what was it like then, how has it changed?

Not so keen on classing myself as a veteran, but I started shooting while a student in Sheffield 1984-87. The student newspaper had press passes to Sheffield Wednesday (top division) and United (next division down), plus other sports venues in the city.

I sat next to the pros from the dailies behind the goal each weekend. I had an OM10 with the cheapest 80-200mm zoom I could afford. They, of course, had the then state-of-the art cameras and lenses. I seem to remember them using long lenses but they could have just been fast zooms. Once the guy next to me knew he had the shot in the bag so let me use his fancy Olympus lens for the second half. I couldn't even hold it, it seemed so heavy.

The thing I remember most is hearing the pros all take the shot (single shot, no bursts, even if they had motorwinds) that fraction of a second before me. My shots were rubbish, theirs made the back pages. Timing, then and now, is so important.