Fuji and/or Nikon

Edit My Images
No
Hi all,

Would appreciate your thoughts as to what you would do.... I’ve got a Fuji XT20 which I’ve invested a great deal of time in learning, setting all the shortcuts, knowing how best to work it (you know what I mean). I’ve had it for about a year or so.

At Christmas I got a Nikon D7500 (long story but can regard it as an upgrade to an old D90 I’ve had for ten years).

My dilemma is this - I’ve spent so much time learning how best to use the Fuji that I cannot quite being myself to invest a similar amount of time in the Nikon. I’m an amateur/enthusiast photographer with a day job and a family so my photo time is limited in many ways.

My husband says the Nikon is a super camera (possibly better than the Fuji) and I should invest time in it and keep it. My thinking is I might be better off selling it whilst it still has good value and if I want a second camera I would buy the Fuji XT3 (slightly larger body compared to XT20 which I like for bigger lenses and weather sealing).

I’m also struggling to see the benefit with a DSLR and an optical viewfinder now that I’ve learnt to use the EVF ‘what you see is what you get’ on the Fuji. Honestly, can you tell me what the advantages are and why they would sway me to keep the Nikon?

In terms of lenses, if that’s a relevant consideration - I have Fuji’s 18-55, 55-200 and 27mm (don’t like the latter all that much). I have Nikon’s 18-140 and 35mm. For either of the two systems I’d love to buy a wide angle lens next.

As to what I like to shoot - family shots (need fast autofocus for running kids and dogs), landscapes and seascapes, a little bit of insects and flowers.

Thanks in advance!

Does your husband also use the cameras a lot? what is he basing his opinion that the Nikon is better upon? They're about on-par I would say. The XT3 sounds ideal, you prefer the Fuji system, you know the ins and outs of it and seem much more comfortable with it than your Nikon.