Beginner Good tips for beginners

Name
Ryan
Edit My Images
No
Could anyone share any good tips for a beginner photographer. I'm relatively new to the hobby and I know a bit but not much and any tips would be appreciated. Thanks!

You'll have to give us some idea where to start Ryan. What equipment do you use?

I currently have a Kodak Pixpro AZ528 as its all I can afford rn and an old tripod I was given by a family member who used to do photography as a hobby

Check out this thread where one of our own has written a free ebook for that very purpose

Sharing your work and getting objective feedback is invaluable (I.e not just parents/siblings/partners going “that’s nice”), as is looking at other peoples work to see what you like, what works and what doesn’t’.

Quite a bit of my time here is looking at other peoples images and the feedback from others.

My tips would be things like:

When you see something you want to photograph, first stop and ask yourself why you want to photograph it. Identify what you want to show, and show it in the strongest way you can (and explaining that is an article in itself). Remove anything from the image (and I mean by change of viewpoint, NOT Photoshop!) that takes the attention from the subject. Yes, there are ways of doing this that require some technical knowledge, but exhaust all the simple ways first. Ansel Adams expressed it more succinctly, in saying that he would rather have a fuzzy photo of a sharp concept than a sharp photo of a fuzzy concept. Paraphrasing - technical quality matters, but it's secondary to the main point. Which starts with an idea of what and WHY you want to photograph something.