Hawks Ice Hockey Sun 14th

KIPAX

Seriously Likeable
Name
KIPAX Lancashire UK
Edit My Images
No
From last sunday Blackburn Hawks v Newcastle.
I didnt get as many action as I wanted and most are sportrait type shots.. But its early days and I am relatively new to Ice hockey. The ratio of action to sportrait should change as I go along.

Taken with a canon 1dmkIII and canon 300 2.8L from the seating area. All at iso 2500 and f2.8 .. Shutter varied from 1/250 to 1/320 as it was slightly darker at one end.. All shot in Manual.

All shot in JPG .. In photoshop cs2 I only used Dust/Scratches to remove noise. I then use highlight/shadow to show the ice.. I used auto WB to take the shots and find this combo best.

More on my website.. All pics will print perfect to 7x5 and a good few to A4 .. I am happy with that from within an ice rink :)

All comments appreciated ...

hawk1.jpg

hawk2.jpg

hawk3.jpg

hawk4.jpg

hawk5.jpg

hawk6.jpg

Hey,
I just had to come and comment on the hockey shots... can't leave photos from that sport with out a comment *hehe*

Even if you do have to go all the way to ISO 2500 and still have to use f2.8 and have the shutter speed quite slow. It must mean the rink is quite poorly lit, saying that the noise doesn't show so it is all good.

I agree with your comment that many of the shots are sportraits - and not really action shots. But you've taken plenty of super sports shots, so all it takes is some time to get to know the game and knowing the individual players will be a great help. As you will know when to expect a good hit or shot...etc.

From these images you've posted here, I have to say that the second one is the pic of the lot. It's got the action and you can see the faces of the players.
The first image would've been nice, except the second player is sort of cut-out as he is behind the first one.