Midlands Hello from Nottinghamshire(ish)

Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello there!

I am John, I am 29 and live in Nottinghamshire, kind of. I actually live in Wiltshire at the moment, however I am moving back up north (Yorkshire lad, born and bred!), probably Nottinghamshire, in a few weeks.

I am new to what I would call proper photography, having dealt exclusively with pocket cameras and smartphones previously. I recently got a Fujifulm HS50 'super-zoom' bridge camera and am hoping to use this as a stepping stone to a DSLR in the near future. A DSLR would be utterly wasted on me at the moment, and if I got one without an auto mode, I would have probably given up through frustration already, the camera would be gathering dust or on eBay!

I am getting married in October and have a wonderful honeymoon planned for a road trip across California and Nevada. My goal is to be able to go out there and take some pictures using manual modes that beat what I would have got on Auto (with minimal trial and error!). Hopefully this forum will prove an invaluable resource in preparing me for it.

Anyway, nice to be aboard, I look forward to absorbing as much information from you all and contributing where possible :)

Happy snapping

JB

Hi John, And welcome aboard TP, looking forward to hearing from you and maybe seeing some of your images on the various forums."Enjoy".

I am getting married in October and have a wonderful honeymoon planned for a road trip across California and Nevada.

You lucky bas**rd! - not so much about the marriage :LOL::LOL: but the road trip sounds an incredible photographic opportunity - so good luck to both you and your prospective bride!

Hi John, :welcome: to the forum

Hello and a very warm welcome to you John.

Useful Sections for New Members (click links)

> The Help section contains some good general information about how we do things around here and how the forum works.
> FAQs and Guides can be found here.