Help & advice choosing first DSLR

Edit My Images
No
Hi Guys & Gels,
I need some help!

I enjoy photography particularly wildlife & have enjoyed using a LUMIX FZ-20 to good effect, with 12X zoom & image stabilisation in one easy to use package with live view etc!
In honesty I tend to shoot mainly in auto mode, but have been pleased with the camera & photos, although the autofocus is hard to pinpoint accurately on one wildlife subject!

I'm now ready to take the step into a DSLR, the main reason is to achieve better quality images, but I still want ease of use. Budget isn't a major issue & I am tempted by Canon 400D 0r 40D, Pentax K10, or maybe the Sony alpha, possibly with the Tamron A18 which would offer me 18-250mm in one lens so I can have a DSLR with compact style convenience! I won't consider Nikon as I have had terrible customer service over their totally crap underwater compact system.

What do you guys think, I'm a novice with DSLR's but want something that will last rather than swapping it each year.

Thanks in anticipation of your help(y).

DB

:thinking:
Well im sure most people will say ":naughty: I hope"

if money is not a issue then get the best you can afford.
out of those I would lean towards the 40d. but thats me ..

best thing to do imo is pop along to a few shops and have a feel and play with each .. you may find one feels wrong in your hands..

everyone is different with different sized hands..

hope this helps some..

md(y)