Help me

Name
Fi
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, i am currently studying for my degree in Photography... we are doing B+W printing at the moment, i am struggling lots

has anyone got any tried and tested pointers they might be able to give me

i am learning a wee bit, but its just so damn hard!

is is all just practise makes perfect? how does my untrained eye see the difference between a good print and a bad?

:shrug:

i am struggling with this one, please help

thanks

Fi

What are you struggling with?

Print quality? Or composition?

Sorry you're not enjoying your darkroom work. I have discovered it recently and am really enjoying it! Are you not getting enough help from your tutor?

At the end of the day a good print is only good to someone who likes what they see...

OK Feeb, here goes....what are you struggling with?
A few basics are covered below.

Assuming you have some decent negatives, you ought to be able to get a good print without too much bother. The key is to make decent test strips. If you can use an f-stop timer like one from RH designs, then this is a piece of cake. If not, don't worry..

First of all, assuming you are using variable contrast paper, set the enlarger to print at grade 2. Any well exposed, properly developed neg should print well at grade 2 - 21/2.
When you make your test strip, choose an area that has the highlights where you want hints of detail. When you have established the highlight exposure, make a work print. The print should have good highlights, and a full range of tones going to maximum black (assuming it's an "average" scene).

If the print seems 'muddy' with poor shadow and mid-tones, increase the grade to grade 3 and make another test strip, from the same area as the previous one.. Be warned that the paper exposure will change as the speed of the paper increases as the grade increases.