Help Please, New to photography

Name
Lynn
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I am looking to buy my first SLR camera and am looking at the Cannon 40d or perhaps the 50d.

I have no clue as to what functions I need LOL. If I let you all know what I need it for maybe someone can help me decide which camera will be best for me.

Ok, I am a reborn baby artist and am looking for a camera to enable me to do baby portraits with very very good detail in my art work. Most pictures are taken close up. But the camera I have does not pick up much detail in the skin tones of my babies.

Please please if anyone has any advice for me it would be much appreciated. Also I do not have a photo studio or lighting of any kind so I rely on the sunlight.

Lynn x

Thanks so much for your help The next question I have is which lens would be the best to buy to go with the camera.

Also would I be able to buy a cheaper slr for the things I want if for or would it be better to spend the extra on a better one??

Lynn x

Hi friend,

I hope you don't mind my small suggestion, Since you are not going to use very professional... I will suggest you to go for Fuji FinePix S100fs ($799)

Review page : http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/fuji/finepix_s100fs-review/

Its not a DSLR but have a very good specifications then DSLR... you don't need to buy any extra lens because you will get multipurpose attached lens ( no need to change) Price is also moderate.

Its my personal suggestion.... please read the review. If you find comfortable then go ahead.

thank you.

PCP

Hi PCP

Thanks so much for your reply I am open to any suggestions. I already Have a sony DSC-H7 which is fairly good and cost almost £300 but It just doesn't take the pictures clear enough for me???

I was told that an SLR would be sooo much better???

Thanks very much for the suggestion I will go and have a peep

Lynn x

Hi and Welcome.

As you are unsure as to what functions you want/need I am guessing you don't know a lot.......yet:)