Help with IP addresses

Name
Stewart
Edit My Images
Yes
Does anybody out there have better than a layman's understanding of IP addresses - where they come from, how they are allocated, that sort of thing?

I have a problem, the details of which I'd rather not divulge on a public forum, but if anybody is willing to help and thinks they may have appropriate knowledge, please get in touch and I'll explain it to you privately.

Thanks in advance.
Stewart

I work in IT Network Design and although I don't profess to know everything, I may be able to help - ask away....

There are essentially two types

Private, so used for internal networks. You can use any of these for your local network.
  • 10.0.0.0/8 IP addresses: 10.0.0.0 -- 10.255.255.255
  • 172.16.0.0/12 IP addresses: 172.16.0.0 -- 172.31.255.255
  • 192.168.0.0/16 IP addresses: 192.168.0.0 – 192.168.255.255
Everything else is considered public (so can be assigned to routers, firewalls, webservers etc) and are generally allocated by isp who in turn get addresses from the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA). Some companies have their own purchased public ip blocks. It is getting harder to grab public ips due to global shortages.

Technically you can just make up an internal ip range for your own network but if it clashes with a popular public ip you may run in to routing issues and service outages on your internal network.

Last edited:
Regardless of whether an IP address is in the public or private range - it will either be statically assigned by the host (i.e. a machine declaring itself to have a particular IP address) or allocated by (DHCP) server.with a period of validity. Whilst those allocated by a DHCP server can be dynamic (i.e. change every time they refresh) in practice they're mostly the same each time - either because the DHCP will have pre-allocated the addresses as fixed or the re-allocation protocol will request the same one again.