Heron: opening background debate please read and comment

Name
Andy
Edit My Images
Yes
Im fairly new to shooting birds and the following images are by no means award winning...what I want to discuss bring up us the difference the colour of the background can have against your bird shots the shot itself I dont consider to be a keeper and would have been binned however i decided to experiment after a friend of mine took a bull finch against a blue sky tother day and it seemed to have no impact... dropping in a grey sky from my sky stock really made a difference... when I opened this up I could see it really lacked something... yes the light was crap and yes he could have been chomping a fish etc... but how much difference does that background make to the impact of your shot and if so learning this valuable lesson could give our images that boost we desire to set it apart and make it stand out.

for this shot i opened the cropped image in cs3 clicked colour range and picked a few points on the reeds and then used the colour adjustment to drag the greens up... then threw a frew filters at it from nik software just for fun.. the original has only a crop no sharpening etc and the later is overprocessed but done so to highlight the difference.

Your thoughts on this would be most appreciated. cheers Andy

4447342153_7a2d1ac245_o.jpg

4448112788_baaea38e2e_o.jpg

:agree: Anyone who knows about reed beds will know they are never green like that, so it's just completely false looking.

the second one just looks to false to me I don t like it at all the first is a more natural shot

"but how much difference does that background make to the impact of your shot and if so learning this valuable lesson could give our images that boost we desire to set it apart and make it stand out.