Beginner Holiday advice

Name
Simon
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

As a complete noob (doing lots of homework tho) Im looking for some advise/tips for shooting my holiday snaps in a few weeks. I'm off to Egypt so mainly beach/pool shots etc with plenty of sunlight etc.

My camera is a Nikon D3200 with 18-55mm lens (basic package). Pictures will range from portraits and fast moving shots of the lil monster. Is there anything I should be picking up beforehand ??

Plenty of memory cards (unless taking a laptop) and you might need some sun cream

UV filter may be useful and a clear filter if lots or sand blowing about which might scratch the lens.

Top Tips

Having been to Egypt recently watch out for pick pockets, if carrying money only take just enough out for the day and take a body money belt. If going through a town what ever you do DO NOT engage with the locals, look straight ahead, otherwise you will be pestered with all trying to sell their goods. That is unless you want a suitcase full of fake Rollex watches. Camera are a prime target and I left my Nikon D300 on board ship and took my camcorder which fits nicely into a trouser pocket. I would recommend taking a compact camera which can be hidden in clothing

Egypt must be one of the biggest country full if thieves. On our Nile cruise on person had £300 snatched by distraction method. Their are 3 police forces ,Military- Civil and Tourist and on one trip to Abu Simbal someone tried with a camera phone to take a photo which was strictly forbidden, with notice boards, Suddenly was grabbed by the tourist police and we never saw him again (not from our party)

Abu Simbal

Sorry about wind noise,, did not have muffler on at the time on the mike

Last edited:
UV filter may be useful and a clear filter if lots or sand blowing about which might scratch the lens.

Top Tips