How could I improve on this with editing?

Name
Nicola
Edit My Images
Yes
Freya.jpg

I like it but know it needs something else, I'm still learning and so any tips would be greatly appreciated.

MM

Thanks....

f1.jpg

Better?

yay!! that is alot easier to look at now, more impact :)
Can i have a go too please, if you dont mind?

yeah i dont mind - in fact I'd appreciate it, lol

mm

let me know what you think of this and i'll tell you what I did if you like it. I realise that the crop has reduced the image quality significantly but similar edits made on the original should come out fine.

This is a really rough effort (eg eyes need to be done more carefully) but Gives you an idea anyway

edit: looking at it again, I would take even more off the bottom so that the eyes lie on the line of the top third

edit21.jpg

you win, ha! If you sold a tutorial on how to do that Kmlc, I would buy it. Very impressive

Wow.

I like both edits, but kmlc, I'd buy that tutorial too!!

I love it - thanks a lot.

Could both of you let me know what you did?

MM

Photoshop 7.0

Just getting to grips with it all really.

I'm really pleased with that edit, could have put it in this months contest if I'd known how to do it myself, lol. Its lovely.

Thanks

:)
Ok, all i did was crop the photo tight, made use of the light from the top left, and 'dodged' her eyes a tad, to bring out the reflection in them. (the dodge tool can be found with the burn and sponge tool)

I then converted it to black and white using the gradient map. (Image>Adjustments>Gradient Map - make sure your colour paletter is black as foreground and white as background)

Then i added a photo filter - sepia, to it, this was set at about 20%

Then i used the burn tool around her eyes a tad, and also the eyebrows a bit. Not too much though, just a smidgen'