How good is a Nikon D2X in comparison to the latest machinery?

Name
Steve.
Edit My Images
Yes
Got the chance of getting a D2X with very low actuations and I wondered how good this camera is. I know it's not as good as the D700 and D3 of course but does it compare well with a D300? I already have a D2HS which I haven't really used yet as I am new to photography and am about to learn but thought I'd consider getting this for the extra resolution it has over the D2Hs. Also was the D2XS much better than the D2X? Thanks in advance for any replies I may receive.

Aside from higher ISO capabilities I'd say the D2Xs (which I have) is as good as a D700 or D3 in all aspects that matter, but it's also different too as the FX/DX format does carry some important differences

Is the D2X as good as a D300 (which I also have) - yes I say, if not better - aside from higher ISO again and not having such a huge screen to view on the back

Remember the D2X was Nikon's top Pro camera period, and has no successor in the DX format - so it's still very much top-dog IMO - unless, you need to use it much & often above 400 ISO, where the D300 is better

Chances are my D300 will break long before my D2Xs though, and it needs more care in crappy weather too. Also, and I found this so annoying I bought the grip for the D300, the D300's battery lasts nowhere near as long as the one in the D2X

There were minor changes to the D2Xs 'upgrade' - but nothing truly significant

HTH

DD

I think it's brilliant - I think we covered all this a while back though, didn't we?

I'd still be more than happy using a D2x or 'xs to go on jobs with, if I hadn't been 'given' the D3 and D3x bodies...

Aside from higher ISO capabilities I'd say the D2Xs (which I have) is as good as a D700 or D3 in all aspects that matter, but it's also different too as the FX/DX format does carry some important differences