If you had £1000 to buy two or three lenses what would they be?

Name
Scott
Edit My Images
Yes
I am quite new to all this and have a Canon 450d, 18-55 is kit lens and a 50mm f1.8. I enjoy portrait photography as well as wildlife photography and was wondering if anyone would like to suggest 2 or 3 lenses that i could buy for roughly £1000. They can be third party, second hand whatever. In fact if you could think of 1 lens that could do it all reasonably well then feel free to mention this.

Thanks

sigma 30 f1.4 canon 85 f1.8 and I'm not sure about the third a 200 f2.8 would be nice but its a bit dear :p

most likely a sigma 30 f1.4 a canon 85 f1.8 and a 580exII

I'd get a 55-250mm IS - like a carry-on to the 18-55mm IS, I'd also get a 10-20mm Sigma or 10-22mm Canon for more wide shots and then maybe another nice prime - 85mm or 30mm?

But it depends on what you're in to. (y)

Another shout for the 'poor man's holy trinity' [I came up with that phrase myself, BTW:naughty:]

Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8
Canon 70-300mm IS USM
Canon 50mm f/1.8 [one less to buy, too]

That leaves enough cash for something else - maybe some macro tubes, maybe a decent flash. I'm using the Nikon version of the above lenses, but I don't think there's a higher quality way to get from 17-300mm using zooms or primes for under £1000.

Canon EF 70-200 F4L
Canon EF-S 10-22

End of thread :)

Seriously, the IS kit lens is a decent bit of glass so I'd get the above two to extend your range dramatically and look at upgrading the kit lens at a later date.

I'd like to get a good Macro lens, I get the feeling I'm going to enjoy Macro.

Perhaps the Canon EF 100mm f2.8 Macro, I might want a longer Macro lens not sure yet.

70-200mm f4L, (sigma) 30mm 1.4 and put everything else towards a 24-70mm L somewhere in the future.

Well, that’s my plan for now :D