Is it worth it? 50D Swap

DarrenToogood

JAMES CHARLES HARRIES
Name
Darren Toogood
Edit My Images
No
Hi guys,

A good opportunity has arisen for me to swap my 50D which I have had since new (November) for a 1D Mk II. More information about this body will be coming through to me shortly however the only piece of information I have at the moment is... it is like new and has only had 22k clicks.

I am mainly a motorsport/event photographer and therefore the 45 AF Points and 8FPS is very appealing for me. The only concern I do have is the 8MP - Not having had a 8MP before I am concerned about the quality of print. I mainly print at A4 or under - would it cope?

Overall the 1D range is well built and provides a more professional feel however compared to the 50D the camera really does show its age. The 1D Mk II uses a DIGIC II processor, does not have Picture Styles and has a very small 2'' screen. These are not major worries however are concerns which put me on the fence with this decision.

In my position, would you do a straight swap of a 50 for a 1D Mk 2 ?

I've not used a 50D or a 1D Mk II, so can't comment on the specifics, but certainly 8MP is fine for A4 prints, assuming of course that you're not cropping too much.

One problem I am hearing, is that after 25k clicks, the 1D is pretty much 'brain dead' ?

After 25K it's barely broken in! 1D Mk II are rated for 200K actuations. I'd guess that the 50D is more like half of that.

The 50 is rated to 100,000 actuations.

If I recall correctly the 1D MkII is a 1.3 crop. Its not a big difference but if you shoot motorsports you may notice the the loss in length.

Say you have a 400mm lens, not uncommon in motorsport, your effective length is going to drop from 640 to 520mm - thats quite a difference. - Just a thought (y)

Two different stories here then! I was told by a fellow motorsport photographer who has a 1D MK II and has spoken to others, that after 25k it looses sharpness etc.