Beginner Is this a suitable combination?

Name
Steve
Edit My Images
Yes
For my first DSLR, I'm thinking of buying a used Nikon D3100 and either a new or used Nikon 35mm f1.8G lens. Total cost, around £200-£250.

First, are these a suitable match?
Second, suggestion for memory card(s)
Third, are these reasonably suitable (or more important are they at all unsuitable) for me? Would something different be better?

To help with the third part....
Experience:- Beginner wishing to 'have a go' at the photographic hobby in my retirement. Currently reading lots of theory and doing a little snapping.
Current camera:- Nikon L26 Point and Shoot. Big MP but no control over Aperture, Speed, etc.
Budget:- I can afford quite a bit more than this but I abhor waste. I might decide photography isn't for me.
What I photograph:- Well, nothing yet. I'm intending to have a general poke about doing anything and everything whilst learning and seeing what pleases me.

I'm currently studying composition and trying to achieve some ability in the basics before splashing out on lots of hardware. With my first gear, I will hopefully decide to either quit the hobby as an abject failure or have some sort of success and move on to something better - when I have a little experience and have some idea what 'better' means!

Any help, advice, opinions, abuse, all welcome.

Steve