Just purchased Epson V750. Help needed

Edit My Images
No
After the friendly advice on here, I decided to buy an Epson V750 for scanning my slides, negatives, photos etc.

However, as a complete novice to scanning, I'm bewildered by the amount of software and settings! I accept that it will take time to master this area but could someone point me in the right direction.

To get started, I need to know the following.

i) Do I need to use all the software? (ie, SilverFast, PhotoShop, EZ Colour)

ii) Which dpi setting and file format will give me the best quality for 35mm colour slides, without the file size becoming ridiculous. I'm assuming that the law of diminishing returns applies? (I've just scanned a 35mm slide at 133MB!! TIFF)

Should I use home or professional mode? (does home mode employ a one-size-fits-all philosophy?)

That should help get me up and running!

For archiving you should try and scan at the highest optical resolution the scanner can manage, unfortunately this can mean huge files. In practice scan at a reasonably low res and if you come across a keeper then rescan it at the highest res.

I have more questions.......

If I scan at max resolution, will I be able to 'shrink' the image small enough for say a web application? JPEG can only compress so far?

I actually want to crack on and get scanning, however I'm rather bewildered by the array of tweaks and settings. Can they be done afterwards in Photoshop, providing the basic scan is bright enough and high res enough?

Use the Epson scan software if you are a bit crosseyed with it all.

Half an hour and you'll be knocking some decent scans out, its not the best, but its not the worst, especially to use.
Go straight to the pro format, the sooner you get a handle on it the better, if you go to home use it will make it difficult for you to change later, if you can scan with home, any minor setback in pro will make you give up and go back to home.