Lens advice for newbie to DSLR

Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello, I have upgraded to a Canon 400D from a Canon Film SLR.
With the camera came a 18-55 EF-S, 80-200 lens, both Canon and a Sigma 75-300 DL Zoom.
I have a 38-76 EF lens and a 80-200 both Canon with my 35 film.

Which of the lenses would be best to keep with the DSLR.
And as a retired person with more time to play, what would each lens be best used for.
I am thinking about enrolling on a photography course at the local Adult Educations centre is this worth it, or do I just play and learn.

Sorry it's a bit long winded but I have lots of time on my hands now.

John

Hi John, welcome to the forum :)

Do you have a preference to any particular type of photography?
I'm far from an expert so I will leave others to advise you on additional lenses.
With regard to a photography course I am also considering doing the same but hopefully via night school.
It sound to me like you have a head start over some of us here as you said you've upraded from a film SLR.
Are there any techniques you feel that you need to learn about in more depth?
The tutorials on the forums are quite handy but perhaps like me, you would prefer to able to ask questions face to face to get a better understanding of things.

Either way, the people here are a great bunch and the advise I have received is fantastic in these forums.