Lens For Landscape???

InaGlo

TPer Emerita
Name
Glo
Edit My Images
Yes
Ok, so for the most part Im going to be using my camera to take pics of hands/nails and head/hands.
I have the 50mm F1.4 & the 100mm F2.8 Macro to cover this.

Recently Ive surprised myself as Im getting into the idea of landscapes but all I have is my 50mm. What Id like to know is... are my pics crap because Im a noob (obviously there is an art to this) and/or do I need a wide angle.
Which lens would you recommend baring in mind Im full frame.
Ta!

Glo, if you're just looking for a cheap lens to try it with then you have the vast selection of old 35mm format lens to chose from.

Something starting around the 24-28mm mark will be reasonably wide on your full frame (5D?) camera.

:)

glo, a wideangle lens will help to add impact to your landscape shots but it's not really necessary. I used to do all my landscape stuff on 35mm with a 50mm lens and never really wanted for a wideangle. if you feel that you're being limited in what you can achieve, i.e you regularly stand there and think 'I can't get the shot cos I can't get it all in' then go down the wideangle route, if you think that it's gonna be an easy route to getting good landscape shots then spend the money going to some beautiful places that inspire you to want to capture them instead! (that's more fun too ;) )

If you do decide to get one, the 17-40L is supposed to be briliant, and 17mm is plenty wide enough on full frame, like sammy says though, there are plenty of cheap second hand wide angle primes kicking about shops like london camera exchange, you may not get autofocus but it's not that critical the wider you go!

hth?

p.s. this was taken @300mm (450mm on my camera) and cropped slightly. Probably not the best example but I didn't have time to drive the extra 5 miles closer I wanted before the sun set lol.

26072006-17.jpg

28mm prime might be an idea, sharp and wide on a full frame.

Might aswell have my 17-40 L :(