Lens help ! ?

Name
Alex james
Edit My Images
Yes
hello all,

i currently have a nikon d5000.i am studying A level photography,at christmas i want to upgrade my lens for footy and rugby i was looking at sigma 70-200 f2.8 its about 600 pounds.then last night i saw the sigma 300mm 2.8 ! :love:
i know its almost double the price but then i would have to save up more money.i want to be a photography when im older doing sport . but do you think it would be better for my to get 70-200 then get 300mm at later date or start off with the 300mm???? i just dnot know what to do :/ also dad is upgrading gear in march so he said i could have his d3 but thinking if that would change lens choice ? helpppp ! :/ dnot know what to do ! :(

thanks alex

If you are getting a D3 you will want AT LEAST 300mm for sports photography, because it's full frame (FX) compared to your D5000 which is crop sensor (DX). This means:

- a 200mm lens on a D3 is 200mm.
- The same lens on a D5000 will appear the same as a 300mm lens would on a D3 (1.5 times the magnification effectively due to the smaller sensor)!!

I would say go for 300mm if you can. A bit cheaper than the 300mm 2.8 Prime lens is the Sigma 120-300 f2.8, which is worth a look too, or even the Sigma 100-300 f4 is OK for starting out. (thats what I started with). If you start covering night games or very dull days you will soon want f2.8 over f4 though, and that also gives you room to add teleconverters for more reach on brighter days!

(A pro sports shooter will normally have two cameras, one with a long lens, and one with a 70-200 for when the action gets closer. If you are starting out and so only have one lens maybe something like the 120-300 will be good as it has a bit of versatility compared to a prime lens where you are fixed at 300mm all the time.)