Lens Spec question.... Aperture related.

Name
Gav
Edit My Images
Yes
I will hold my hands up right now and say I AM A NEWBIE.. i'm still trying to get my head round all this photography stuff so please be gentle :)

The question:

What is good/bad about a lens that has a fixed aperture rather than a variable one? ie 70-210 f4 over a 70-210 3.5-5.6. Do they suit a different type of subject?

TIA

When you comment say the 70-210 F4, the F4 is the widest aperture that the lens will run to. In the case of F3.5-5.6, it means that the widest aperture is variable, dependant upon the focal length that you chose to use.

It is best that a lens be fastest it can (ie... a low number F2.8 for instance)
Some zooms have their widest aperture at the zoom length not as wide as when it is at the shortest focal length.

Therefore a lens with its widest aperture being 2.8 all the way through is best. It can still be varied up the the narrow end of the range... but the F2.8 means that is its widest aperture at all the focal lengths.

Well I know what I mean!! ;) :D but explained so much better by Mr Sukebe!!!

A fixed aperture such as F4 or f2.8 is classed as a 'faster' lens, as in, right across its zoom range, you can have a maximum wide open aperture that 'collects light quickly' - fixed aperture lenses are, as a rule of thumb, better quality than variable. Of course a fixed aperture doesn't mean you can't stop it down to other f-stops, it just means it has the same max right across its range.... I think I am making sense. :thinking:

right guys that makes sense to me.... but can you give me a for example as to when a wider aperture at the longest length would come in useful? what sort of things can you use that for?

A constant aperture throughout a lens' entire zoom range means, for any given light value, the shutterspeed will remain constant. Particularly is this important when using manual exposure.