Lens

Name
Mark
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All ,I am looking for some advice.
I am looking to purchase a new lens for sports photography.
Advice please ,prime ,zoom I am thinking 300mm 2.8 my budget is around
£2000.00 what worth looking at
Thanks guys
mark

you might be able to pick up a non VR 300 f/2.8 for that. the 300 f/4 can be had for around £700 s/h after that there's the 70-200 f/2.8, you don't really need VR or maybe the sigma 120-300, bit of a compromise lens.....

I use a sigma 150 500mm at the moment on a d300s.its ok but I dont get that pin sharp look and it does struggle in low light.
I have been looking at a sigma 300mm 2.8 prime lens that comes in around 2k
do you know much about this lens
thanks Mark

Would I need to consider a converter also I am a bit of a novice so not sure
thanks

I use a sigma 150 500mm at the moment on a d300s.its ok but I dont get that pin sharp look and it does struggle in low light.
I have been looking at a sigma 300mm 2.8 prime lens that comes in around 2k
do you know much about this lens
thanks Mark

No personal experience of the Nikon version of the sigma 300 f/2.8. I would be inclined to go for the Nikon 300 at the price Andy (Tobers mentioned)

Would I need to consider a converter also I am a bit of a novice so not sure
thanks

it depends what sports your shooting really, 300 on a D300 should be fine for football, you could easily stick a 1.4 convertor on it to give you 420mm at f/4

Under floodlights you might struggle with the TC on your D300 but for good natural light it should work nicely

The main sport I would be shooting is cricket

1.4 or 1.7 on D300 then you might need to crop a bit also. It depends if you are doing local park cricket or at bigger grounds., i used 1.7 on a 400 and D3S last year AT Old Trafford and found it still needed some cropping

Some examples

Nice work Andy some great shots !!!!!!
When you say crop them do you mean in camera or in ps
Thanks