Beginner Lighting Solutions for Photography and Video Shoots

Name
Kenny
Edit My Images
Yes
Dear all, I have recently bought (read: blown most of my budget) on a Canon 760D with which, I am most pleased. The purpose behind buying the camera (I previously had 400D) was to allow me to take my family shooting to the next level and, more importantly, to allow me to shoot video content for my business. I'm happy with the equipment, lenses, audio mic, etc I have for this purpose but I need lighting solutions to try and cover both bases.

At the moment I have a Canon Speelite 430 EX II, a diffuser hood and a reflector; equipment that has allowed me to get some pretty decent shots. What I lack is off-camera flash capability, better diffusion (i.e. umbrella, softbox) and a second source of light. I've got a newborn son and I'm aiming for some nice studio shots of him as he ages. I'm no professional, but I'm looking to get as close to professional studio shots as I can through hard work and no doubt a lot of trial and error.

In another discussion it was suggested that a second speedlite, remote control for both and 2x diffusing umbrellas on mounts would give me a lot of control over my lighting. However, none of this equipment helps at all with the video lighting and, ideally, I'd like to kill two birds with one stone to keep the costs down.

With regards to video I'm mostly looking for "not terrible". In other words, I don't need the lighting, sound and studio environment to be BBC quality - I just need it to not look like amateur hour.

I can't help but wonder if real budget stuff like this lighting kit would give me sufficient lighting (and that glint in the eye) for making my videos (mostly indoor). With all of this I'm not really bothered about brand or build quality because none of this equipment will be carted around. I need maximum bang for buck and will happily put up with flimsy stands if it keeps the cost down but actually solves the problem of studio light.