Lightroom backup folders - Can I delete some?

Messages
276
Edit My Images
Yes
I have just found that I have 13.5 GB of backup folders in "My Pictures" of 152 Lightroom backups (as well as a 7GB folder of previews which presumably hold data on the photos in the catalogue?)

Could I deleted some of the 152 backup folders which go back a year?
 
No expert here, but I wondered about the same thing and googled it. The general concensus I read was yes, do it. Leave the last three though.

I deleted all but the last three of mine and freed up loads of space. :)
 
I tend to keep the last few and one per month going back for the last year (I clear them out every so often), however I always keep the last one before a backup.
 
Thanks everbody - will delete as suggested (but move them first just to test!)
Mel
 
Last edited:
I don't use lightroom to backup the catalog at all. I just choose the "Skip this time" option every time it asks me to backup (can this be disabled?) .

I already backup the catalog manually so i dont see any need for lightrooom to do it for me and take up loads of disk space while it does it.
 
ziggy©;3641551 said:
I don't use lightroom to backup the catalog at all. I just choose the "Skip this time" option every time it asks me to backup (can this be disabled?) .

I already backup the catalog manually so i dont see any need for lightrooom to do it for me and take up loads of disk space while it does it.

you should be able to disable it in i think the catalogue preferences dialogue.
 
Back
Top