Beginner Looking for a camera with an image reference / number display

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I'm new here, well actually I'm new to photography in general, and am looking for some advice on a camera - this seems as good a place as any to direct my queries.

I'm a surveyor, and regularly have to undertake schedules of condition of properties, which involves dictating the condition whilst photographing every single nook and cranny inside. The dictated survey gets typed up for us, and then I need to go through and note the photo reference of each defect next to the description.

Now this can be quite problematic as several zoomed in photos showing cracks can all look very similar, and they won't always be taken in the same order as they are dictated - so when it comes to marrying up the photos with the description, it can be very time consuming.

One way I thought this could be resolved is if I had a camera that could provide a photo reference as I take the photograph (which I could then include in the dictation). I seem to recall seeing some cameras previously that have a small LCD display on the top that I wondered if this showed the photo number (or perhaps they just display the number of photos left available on the memory card). Alternatively, when the photo is taken if it could flash up the photo reference on the display screen, that would be fine. And finally, it would be useful if the photo reference could be reset to zero at the beginning of each survey. What I don't really want to be doing is going into the viewing mode to get the photo reference after capturing each photo, as there can often be around 500 photos taken, so the time to do this can really add up.