making the right camera choice

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
No
I've been playing around with my Canon 350D for about a year now but have just sold it and a couple of lesnes to fund a compact digital for my holiday snaps etc. But I still want to do some creative photography with an SLR.

I'm not hugely serious about my photography so i always found the cost of lenses etc very restrictive, only being able to afford the cheapest lenses at 2nd hand prices. So i decided to look into buying a film SLR which would allow me to get more for my money.

I'm still a reletive novice so like the idea of a basic fully manual camera that will allow me to continue learning as I go. From the searches I have gone through the cameras that people seem to recommend are

Canon A-1 or AE-1
Olympus OM1 or OM 2
Minolta X300

From what I can gather the A-1 is a bit more electronic so might be more at risk of something not working if i'm buying from ebay?

I think I like the sound of the OM1 but will this be a good option in terms of being able to buy a variety of lenses to play with at reasonable prces? I have come acros the Zuiko lenses, but will other lenses fit also? I get very confused as to what lenses fit what cameras :bonk:

I hope this hasn't been too much of a repetative post, but i just wanted to confirm some of my thoughts. I know lots of people already have a collection of lenses so they are more brand specific when chosing a camera.

Thanks,

Paul

To be honest with you, all the cameras you mention are very good. The Canon AE-1 offers manual control with shutter priority, whilst the A1 has this and aperture priority and program exposure. There was also an AE-1 Program which replaced the original AE-1.