Medium Format first buy

Name
Danny
Edit My Images
No
Hi Guys,

Firstly, I have no film experience...like at all. So please be aware, I will probably ask stupid questions, I'm probably naive, it comes with the territory lol.

I've been researching medium format alot lately with a view to purchasing a body, for use with a digital back, initially to be hired for commercial jobs, and hopefully then moving on to purchasing one.

However, the more I'm looking into this, the more I'm falling in love with the film images I'm seeing.

I shoot family portraiture full time, but my real passion is beauty and fashion, and there are some stunning examples of this shot on film that just have such a great quality about them.

So really I want the best of both worlds...I want to invest in a system that will provide me with a learning curve of both medium format, AND film...but also have good lens options and compatibility with digital backs.

I want the best quality I can reasonably afford. What I've sort of narrowed this down to in my head is:

Mamiya RZ67 (or pro or pro II - to be honest I don't really know the differences, if anyone could help me with that?)

Mamiya 645 AFD (would prefer a bigger negative than 645 if I can though)

Hasselblad 500CM

Hasselblad 503

Or....just buy a used H3D II 31 for approx £5000 odd and be done with it?

This is very much open to discussion, any and all help would be really appreciated.

Thanks alot

Danny

Price the better digital backs and note what "digital" features they have for film cameras and you might come to the conclusion for that much money you'd be better off with a 645D or H3D. For me, anyway, if I was to fork out that much money for a digital back for my 500C/M, I'd want higher ISO, better integration and all the other features you'd expect from a digital.