Metering for Motorsports....

Name
Matt
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone,

As you know from the Introduction threads I am new to photography and have only been doing it a few months, teaching myself different aspects as I go along. Today I have a question....

Tomorrow morning at around half 10 I plan on going to a Motorsport rally in a forest approx an hour away from me. I will be looking to take shots at approx 1/250 to show the car in focus but with blur in the tires, I will also be spending alot of time panning, approx 1/80, as this is the technique I like best ( even though its hard to master lol)

I was just wondering, confused, what metering should I use for this type of event? I usually use Evaluative, but as I got reading about them I think with the green grass, the dark tarmac, the dark tress, the cloudy sky, the colours on the cars then it might confuse the camera? Or if I am panning and taking action shots I would probably have the car in the centre 90% of the time so should I use Centre Weight, as long as the car is exposed properly who cares about the background?

Any feedback would be nice, as this topic is quite tricky, even any tips on how to meter the camera properly before the event. As previous car events I have had a bright background but the car itself was slightly dark.

Your metering should be dictated by how large you will place the car in the frame. If you have the car 80%+ filling the frame, then evaluative should give correct exposure. If its small in the frame with a dark or light backdrop it may not.

The best way to ensure correct exposure would be to manually set all controls - then you can tweak your aperture or iso to keep a shutter speed you want, and expose for the car in the frame. However you have to pay close attention to your exposure, especially when you go from one composition to another.