Nervous newbie here

Name
Suzanne
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi folks

My name is Suzanne and I am delighted to find this forum. I've been reading it as a lurker for ages now but have only just plucked up the courage to join in.

Most of my photography is motorsport/music/landscape stuff but I'm more of an over-enthusiastic amateur rather than a proper photographer. Having said that, I sort-of turned professional last year. As a day job I work in medical publishing (and have a motorsport link to it); at weekends the camera comes out and I head off to Silverstone (or any other racing circuit in the UK) and I start to practice from behind the catch-fencing. I am a long-time member of the Silverstone Racing Club and also a member of its Steering Group (excuse the pun) who are (unpaid) advisors to the SRC and, by extension, the BRDC and SCL.

I'm fortunate because a couple of professional motorsport photographers have taken me under their wing and are training me in the art of motorsport photography. I owe a lot to them because they help me arrange accreditation at Silverstone and give me a lot of support - as does the Circuit. However, I am completely in awe of the real photographers because their shots are fantastic.

I would like to join this forum to learn more about photography and photographers. It's not just taking pictures, it's learning more about my camera and also about etiquette. I am always terrified of doing something wrong, wandering into the wrong place, getting in the way of anybody or getting on people's nerves.

Best wishes

Suzanne

Wow suzanne you are lucky. I love motorsport and would love to get the chance of being on the other side of the fence. I went to the festival of speed earlier this year, and was extremely annoyed that i couldn't get close to the action like the authorised photographers can.
Think photography and motorsport together is like a dream come true but a little hard to get into