New guy here

Name
David
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello, I am David

I am new to digital photography but in the day had a pentax program plus with a couple of lenses. My daughter is big into photography and peaked my interest again. And my wallet. I have aquired a used canon 80d with and 18 - 55 I think lens. I have taken about 30 pics so far. I had just gotten it and my old back went down so all I could do was read the 90d manual and a photography book, and some ipad internet on the subject. I am up walking again and hope maybe to be back in full swing in about another week. And of course have my camera with me.

I am trying to start in manual mode from the start up. I also programed back button focus as it seemed like it clicks better in my mind some how.

I am thinking that I need to have a small proto call when getting ready to shoot. May be over kill I don't know. Example might be,
Where is white, (balance)
Which metering,
What's in focus and out,
What do I want action to be, or not (shutter speed)
Correct exposure,
etc.
I assume to shoot low ISO as practical?

Good idea, bad idea just thinking because there are so many buttons on this thing.

I am a visual learner and having trouble with how to think about white balance. It seems backwards to me somehow. For instance, for effect say to warm (orangish) a shot up so to speak. I would increase the number that says it is a cooler bluer number which is really a hotter temp. I think I have it twisted some way but can't make it make sense. I am missing a principle I know, and when a correct one comes it will un twist for me. But for now I have to think it kind of reverse.

I am wanting another lens also a zoom up to 250-300 range. Seems like I hearing save up and get one with a large f stop, large opening.

Any way as you can see I'm just getting started and as everyone else looking for good guidance. And that is why I'm here.

Thanks David

Hi David and welcome to TP