newbie camera advice

Name
Dion Bee
Edit My Images
Yes
im new to d-slr, been using compacts and some of my uncles older film slr's.
Im after a budget camera, under £340 preferably.
Ive been on this forum as a guest for quite a long time, and seen that the 400d can be had some okaces for £200? where is it avalible?

Been looking at the Sony a200, Nikon D40 & D40x, Nikon D60.

im going to be mostly taking pictures of motorsport.

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

is it a good camera?
which one of those would you guys use/recomend?

Ive seen in some other posts on here that the 400d is avalibe for around the £200 mark, where is this?

Dion!

The 400D is a good camera for a newbie but not necessarily any better or worse than the other major brands. There have been any number of "which DSLR" threads here, and by reading some of them you can get a feel for the pros and cons of the different brands.

There was a rumour recently that Sainsburys had a job lot of them and were selling them off for £199, but I've not heard of anyone actually finding one at that price. If I were you I wouldn't waste time trying to find it for that sort of price.

what is the general feedback on the sony alpha 200?

And is there any major difference between the nikon D40 and D60?

Hi Dionbee93

A first time DSLR is really down to the preferance of the individual. Everone has their own taste, comfort and feel for a camera. Also, if you are buying a DSLR you also have to consider the glass you are going to need! With motorsport the lenses required are expensive,so try and budget for that. When starting out, as I've found, any DSLR will far out perform the new owners capabilities, so look at the bigger picture and spend wisely.

When I purchased my 1st DSLR, I was advised to go into a shop and 'feel' each camera within you budget. See what it feels like and hows it balances in your own hand.