Newbie here... with her self portrait

Betty

BrideZilla!!!
Edit My Images
No
Hi all,

Nice to be here! I havent been into photography for very long, but its something I think I could really get into. I love taking photos of people, posed and candid, and Ive practised on myself for the most part :)

I took this photo some time ago, but thought it would be a good starting point. I dont have models, or a studio, or good lighting ay my disposal, so I do the best I can in my bedroom with my Fuji Finepix ;)

DSCF1290.jpg

No processing done at all, thats something I need to learn yet. C+C welcome :)

Hello Betty. :wave:

Commendably good shot - it's not easy doing self portraits.

You need to get back from the camera a bit, as shooting that close tends to distort the face as it has here. I have this vision of you smiling and reaching for the shutter button. :D

Get yourself comfortable at the right distance and pre-focus using Manual focus, then use the delayed timer to release the shutter.

Your shot looks a bit soft and will stand sharpening, but as you say, you haven't processed it. Good effort and good first post. (y)

Thanks CT, I think it actually looks better smaller ;)

I did actually set the timer, and I cant remember what I was thinking of to smile like that ;) Once I get an office up and running, I can start processing my shots :)

Completely agree with CT, very good effort, especially for a 1st post (y)
Table lamps make excellent lighting sources as long as you control the exposure & white balance correctly - heat resistant theatre gels may be an idea to extend your options until you're sorted with your lighting.
Looking forward to the next ones (y)

Thanks moomike! I have some others but they might be best suited to the glamour section, although they are mostly of my back, but no real nudity.

Ill have a wander in there later to see if they will fit the criteria :)

Hi Betty,