Newbie signing in - some questions if I may?

• Thread starter Deleted member 17239
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 17239

Hello everyone,

First off - introduction. My name is Steve, I am from Essex and I have just recently purchased a Nikon D60 VR kit courtasy of the Currys price mixup as found by Bodman and pointed out to me by my good friend Mangelwurzel (+1 internets for you both :)).

I am a total newbie when it comes to photography and bow down to your superior knowledge and humbly ask for some assistance in helping me decide what additional kit to purchase and any recommended reading to help me on my way.

Items on my list to get me started:
  1. Additional Lens (55/70-200mm?)
  2. Lens Filter (52mm?)
  3. Camera Bag (not too big, ideally enough for an additional lens and cables/cards)

Ideally I need to keep the cost down to a minimum as I only see this as a hobby and I don't ever see myself taking this up professionaly, but at the same time I dont mind spending a little extra if the quality difference is there.

The Lens I was looking at was either of the three below (the selection is not really based on anything other then the range seems better then what the kit lens is):

Filters I am totally lost, I gather from various posts it is a 52mm filter I need, and most have recommended a Nikon 52mm NC (Neutral Colour) filter, but wasnt sure if that was for one purpose or multi purpose? Is there much point in spending lots on a filter if I only have cheapish lenses? Are there any from 7dayshop you would recommend?

Bag wise I quite like this one but could anyone identify the model?

As mentioned I am a total novice and I would be much happier with a full understanding on what the different options on the camera does, how to set it up correctly, etc and therefore a good book/video is probably the way forward.

Thank you again for any assistance you can offer. I hope to learn a great deal from you all.

Lickeh

Don't know what subjects will interest you most.