Newbie wanting to progress to SLR

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello !

Right, after recently purchasing a fuji S1000fd to get into the hobby, i have come across £190 in argos vouchers, which i might aswel put towards an slr, which i was planning on doing soon anyway.

Im looking at the D60 with 18-55 Lens. clicky

Is this a good stepping stone ?

I am new to photography, but i want something that i can progress with and not feel the need to upgrade for sometime.

Would this package be ok ?

Any help would be appreciated

thanks ;)

Good choice. I have the D40 and it is a fantastic camera to learn on. The only thing I would suggest is to try and have a hold of it first to see if it feels ok. I was dead set on a Canon but it did not quite feel right. As soonas I picked up a Nikon it just felt right.

Don't also forget the Sony and Pentax ranges. Remember also that it is a system that you are buying into and the extras soon add up :bang::bang:.

Have fun

Nick

right... ive also seen the A200 now.

The main thing that puzzling me is the lack of auto focus in the D60.

Is it a bad thing ? Do the lenses with af cost alot more ?

Im totally confused about which to go for now. I cant really try them out as ive come into contact with some argos vouchers...

right... ive also seen the A200 now.

Is it a bad thing ? Do the lenses with af cost alot more ?

Im totally confused about which to go for now. I cant really try them out as ive come into contact with some argos vouchers...

hi mate,why not go to someone like currys and ask them to let you handle a couple of cameras...they should let you do this if they think they will get a sale...pick what you feel is right for you.tell them you are going to think about it..just pop along to argos and get the one you have chosen.