Newcastle Airport - A Few Shots

Name
Nick
Edit My Images
Yes
Here's a few shots of some aircraft shot on Saturday afternoon whilst waiting for the Sunderland Airshow aircraft to appear.

I'm only just starting out so the camera in on 'Automatic' mode! :(

Any critique is welcome! Thanks!

Nick.

IMG_0837.jpg

IMG_0808.jpg

IMG_0755.jpg

IMG_0803.jpg

IMG_0795.jpg

As far as framing goes I think they're OK. As a quick critique I think the verticals in the top pic are a little off, they're all a little soft (too my eyes) and the helo's could do with some rotor blur. Actually as you're in auto-mode, rotor blur is going to be quite hard to achieve. Have a look through the transport forum for some shots that show the blur and take a note of the shutter-speed etc, I can't give you a speed as I've no experience other than observing other people shots.

Hope that helps...

I feel that these pictures look too static, and lack a sense movement. With a lower shutter speed you'll get a sense of movement within your pictures. With the example of the helicopter, i would use a shutter speed of 1/30, just to blur the rotors, but you'll have to pan with the helicopter to stop it from blurring. I have a few examples of panning on my website, (the fiat 500).

Hope this helps.

www.davidmajoe.com

As said need a lower shutter to blur the rotors ect but on a good point i think composition wise 1 is a cracking shot.

With the example of the helicopter, i would use a shutter speed of 1/30, just to blur the rotors, but you'll have to pan with the helicopter to stop it from blurring.

i'd suggest 1/320th to start, then 1/160th as you get better with practice.

1/30th is ridiculously low