Nikon flash

Name
Deborah
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone

I was just wondering if anyone could give me a bit of advice. I am relatively new to photography (bought my nikon d3100 in September). I was wondering whats the difference between Nikon flash and which would you recommend. I mainly take portrait shots (due to having a gorgeous 2 year old girl). I'm a little confused with flash lol any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Depends on budget - a used sb600 is around £125 while a new sb910 is £340. I started on a sb400, then a sb600 which was much better, now use an sb900 which is big but brilliant. Generally I would say the more you spend the more powerful it is. It is great for bouncing off ceilings.

The 700 may be the one to go for at £200 new.

If you are looking for cheaper alternative I can recommend the Yongnuo 560 III flash gun, it's around £60 on ebay, it's full manual, but if you want an i-TTL version, Yongnuo do a 568EX for Nikon model that is i-TTL for about £120, really good value for money.

The newer nikon flashes (SB700/900) are actually a little weaker than the older models (SB600/800) but have nice user interface.

IMO, the real question is how do you plan to use it and with what camera. I would suggest a simple manual flash, stand, umbrella, trigger....or CLS if indoors/short distances and your camera body supports it.

Manual flash is probably the easiest to learn/understand, just like manual mode on the camera is the easiest to learn/understand, when it comes to really being in control of what's happening.

The newer nikon flashes (SB700/900) are actually a little weaker than the older models (SB600/800) but have nice user interface.

IMO, the real question is how do you plan to use it and with what camera. I would suggest a simple manual flash, stand, umbrella, trigger....or CLS if indoors/short distances and your camera body supports it.