Oil and Water with a twist

• Thread starter Deleted member 34016
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 34016

I have been trying to perfect different ways of shooting Oil on Water

Ive attached 2 images that are different in so much as I added a deep red coloured wrapping paper under the bowl to create this

goldenglobesEXIF.jpg

Wrapping paper with Stars printed on it are clearly visible in the bubbles of this shot

StarBurst.jpg

C&C welcomed, looking to learn (y)

Les :D

Last edited by a moderator:
Thank you Dave- just playing with the new ring flash at the moment
any tips on best use?

Les (y)

I like the red one. Nice effect, not so struck on the second one.

we're all entitled to an opinion- thank you for your comments - I actually prefer the 2nd image too

Its a long learning curve this Macro lark :D

Les (y)

yes I think it is-the oil was moving and I used a slow shutter speed - Im new to Macro photography- only just bought a Macro lens - But, I'll persevere (y)

heres my latest

OilCD12.jpg

No flash compensation on the ring flash unit-

102_3552.jpg

can I adjust output through the Camera??

Les ;)

Ps it seem to work very well in Aperture prioity mode and Programme mode

a little bright in manual

Marumi DRF14

Les ;)

http://www.jessops.com/online.store/products/77695/show.html

The leaflet I got with it says:

Flash exposure compensation by way of controlling the lighting intensity. can be altered by using the exposure compensation on the dslr body, which allows the flash exposure to be adjusted + or - 3 stops

when exposure compensation is selected the ring flash unit will emit the lighting amount according to the flash exposure adjustment

Ok so wheres the exposure adjustment on my camera lol

UPDATE_ found the Flash compensation mode button on the camera and I can adjust the flash output + or - 3 stops

Thanks Dave youre a star :clap::clap: