Portaits - Subjects against a black background ?

Edit My Images
No
Hey there

I'm very new to studio lighting and am planning on producing a number of portraits of people in uniform.

I know EXACTLY how I want them lit, which is like this !...
http://www.designboom.com/tools/WPro/images/11n/dt3.jpg

(for further images go to http://www.dannytreacy.com/ 'Them' series)

Gorgeously lit, almost 'confronting', standing out from a black background.

However, I have no idea how to go abouts creating this !...

If anyone has any advice eg. lighting kit type, distance between subject and background, how to get that background so black etc I would be very grateful... I really am studio naive !

Thanks very much for your time

Without knowing what kind of gear you have it is difficult to suggest what to do.

If we work on the assumption you have minimal gear then I would suggest keeping your flash to subject distance as close as possible and your subject to background distance as large as possible. This will maximise light fall off behind the subject and hopefully reduce the background to near to black as possible. Remember that shutter speed only affects available light so use your cameras max sync speed (1/250th or thereabouts) and try to stop down your aperture (as much as you flash output will allow). This should hopefully kill what ambient light there is and get that background very dark.

Nice link by the way, weird pics but cool. Maybe somebody else could step in and offer types on the lighting set ups suitable for this type of work. I am out of my depth there but I guess a couple of studio strobes with umbrellas or softboxes positioned in really close to get that wrap-around shadowless look would be really cool with a black background.

With regards to background, a wall that is painted white can be reduced to black if you have the separation between subject and background.

I'm guessing your working for an organisation that wants to publish the pictures via Routers ?