Beginner Portrait shoot - what kit?

Name
Rich
Edit My Images
Yes
My sister has asked me to do a photoshoot of her son and my 2 kids as an anniversary present for our parents. I've never done this sort of thing before so bit unsure what kit to take. I've taken some glorified snaps of my kids but never done a "shoot" or portraiture either.

The kit I have is D7000 body with Nikkor 18-55 kit lens, Nikkor 35mm f1.8 and a Tamron 18-200. I have a Jessops flash but not really used it much. I have no off camera equipment and hoping to use natural light.

We're going to head to a local park/lake/country-house-with-estate-land type of place in the spring so natural light should be fine. Hoping for some daffodil shots or similar.

Also got to try and get a few shots with everyone in (4 parents and 3 kids) with no extra person to hold the camera so will take the tripod and remote release for these shots. Anyone done that sort of shot with any success before?

Anyway, what would your set up be for the shoot given my options?

Thanks for that. I was thinking that the 35mm was the best lens, certainly very sharp when I get the focus spot on. My only issue with that lens is that the dof when used at anything close to f1.8 is so shallow that it's can be easy to miss a shot because it's out of focus.

35 is a great lens, and will be brilliant for close up photos of individual people, stop it down to f2.2 for its best performance and more room for error with depth of field.

The best lens for the group photos for me would be the 18-200 if you have enough light. It will compress the background and at long focal lengths like 100mm will give you a nice blurred background even at f5 (which you would need to be at least to get them all in focus).

For the close up shots, do you have a reflector? Even in poor light you can bring the eyes to life with a bit of bounced light. If not then tinfoil taped to cardboard is worth a shot to see what results it gives.