Potentially taking pictures in a club (flash help)

Name
Matt
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi i may be getting asked to take some pitctures for a friend of a friends party (which i assume will be in a club or something not too sure tbh).

basically i have never done this before so could do with some pointers on how to set the camera up lol.

equipment will be:
1000d + kit lens (18-55)
jessops 300afd flash gun.

would i benifit from getting a diffuser or softbox type thing if thats possible?

advice would be very much appreciated.

Have a look for a stofen, (don't know if they make it for the jessops flash).

Practice beforehand so you dont walk in there in a blind panic. If you are wanting any kind of control over your lighting figure out some way to get your flash off camera. The cheapest way is with an off-camera cord (check the Hong Kong sellers on ebay) or use a cheap radio trigger such as the PT-04 set up (ebay as before).

You will have to figure what kind of look you are after. If you are wanting sharp shots with no blur then you will need to keep your shutter speed high (between 1/60th and 1/250th) Unfortunately this will kill most ambient light and take away the club atmosphere.

If you want something a bit more creative drop your shutter speed to allow your camera to pick up the ambient light and use the flash to freeze somebody in shot. There has been previous examples on this forum shot in this way of a club DJ. Make sure you set your flash to 2nd or rear curtain sync.

If you intend to buy a small flash diffuser you use these for bounce flash. This lets most of the flash hit a nearby wall or ceiling to create a nice soft light and the diffuser throws a little bit of direct light at the subject to make their eyes sparkle. Don't aim a diffused flash at your subject, this is not soft light.

As i said before, you really have to practice beforehand to figure on the look you are after. Oh, shoot in raw and then process on DPP afterwards.