Printer for B&W?

Edit My Images
Yes
I purchased an Epson XP 970 printer and it's really difficult to get b&w prints without a cast - is there a printer that can print b&w accurately that's around £150 max?

Any printer at that price range is going to mix all the colours to give you B&W., That's what causes the colour cast.
A print profile may help but usually not much. It's the reason why pro printers like the P600/800 P700/900 etc have a B&W Mode which only uses the blank and grey inks.

Don't the cheaper Canon printers allow use of black ink only?
I think my ip3600 has both a pigmented and dye black ink and has a "grayscale" option in the driver. I have not tried it for b&w photos though.
I'm far from an expert, but as they don't have a white, I'm unsure how a purely black ink printer would do grey? Mine has 2 grey inks as well as black so I've answered it for me, but for CMYK printers, I thought it used the colours to make grey. Happy to be re-educated.

I'm far from an expert, but as they don't have a white, I'm unsure how a purely black ink printer would do grey? Mine has 2 grey inks as well as black so I've answered it for me, but for CMYK printers, I thought it used the colours to make grey. Happy to be re-educated.
If you think about the white issue, it is the same with a colour printer. ie none of the CMY colours combine to make white, only black ;)
White is the absence of ink on nearly all printers I think.
From what I understand (and I am also far from an expert) printers having grey inks is just so they can have smoother greyscales.

White is the absence of ink on nearly all printers I think.
I get that, but what about grey? Does it just spray a finer mist of black? :help:

Edit - I looked it up on Gemini... Seems it can be a combination of mixing colours and dithering.

Most printers, especially inkjet printers, don't actually use dedicated grey ink. They achieve various shades of grey by using a combination of techniques:

1. Mixing colored inks: