Ricoh GR1, common problems, prices etc.

Name
Cezar
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello,
Recently I have found a Ricoh GR1 Date in a charity shop for £3(£3 got me a helios 44-2, pentacon 50mm 1.8 and this Ricoh)

I was soooo excited to test it out so I ordered a battery the same day. It came and I shot a roll of film through it. And it's a fantastic camera to use. (Bare in mind that I'm a student, so to get such a premium camera is Gods gift)

However, there are problems and here come my questions.

- The top screen is confused, not showing all the information and only parts of the number of shots left are visible,
- The flash seems a little burned but works, perhaps someone went on a mad one with flashing until it got too hot?
- The shutter button sometimes doesn't fire, focuses but when i press all the way the lens moves out of focus and stays there.(sometimes it takes a few tries before the shutter fires) This only happened on 3 frames of the film.
- The film winding motor is really noisy, not a smooth sound but sort of 'geary' sound. I read this means the motors are tired.
- Lastly, The viewfinder information is not really visible, only the numbers on the left and the focus points in the middle, I read there should be more?

And my question is, how much roughly would I have to pay for a service in the UK(Bristol)? I got it for so cheap that I think its worth repairing (if service is decent £££)
Also, what are the common problems with the camera, anything else I should look out for?

Taken on Expired Tesco 400 film.

Thanks

Common problems are pretty much what you have. From my fairly extensive research:

- Noisy motor (the motor is fairly loud as standard, but exceptionally loud / clicking often means it's on it's way out)
- LCD screen is known to go
- foam inside, which surrounds the window on the back often wears out (probably the cheapest fix
- rubber surround often goes around the viewfinder.