Right lens for this lighting technique?

Name
Brad
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm a new photographer in the middle of researching buying a used camera to do a specific lighting technique called light painting. Black background, 10 sec shutter speed, cutting all the lights and illuminating the piece with a quickly moving flashlight beam. The guy that made the how-to video I'm following uses an older Canon Rebel T3i camera with a 50mm Canon EF50mm F1.8 lens. He says you can use any DSLR camera with manual mode, but for simplicity's sake I'm researching buying the same camera and lens.

So in searching ebay I'm finding lots of T3i cameras but very few with the 50mm 1.8F lens he mentions. 95% of the T3is offered are bundled with either or both... an EF-S 18-55mm lens with F 1:3.5-5.6 and/or an EF-S 55-250 lens.

I've read how the larger 1.8F would be better in low light conditions, and I wondered how this extra functionality over the more common 3.5F lens would be a factor with this technique.

Is anybody familiar with this type of lighting scheme or have an idea what type of lens would be better for it?

n1nDSlc.jpg

Yep, as Lee says, it makes no difference what you use.
It's technique not camera/lens equipment.
As long as you can keep the shutter open for the desired length of time any camera from the cheapest to the most expensive will do it.
The widest aperture of the lens is probably of no consequence as you would probably be stopped down to F8 anyway.

You don’t need f1.8 for this. Pickup a rebel with a kit lens and it will be fine.

It's a lighting technique. Camera and lens have nothing to do with it. Some new smartphones even have a 'light painting' mode.

Using light painting for product photography though is a terrible idea.
And you wouldn't shoot products at f1.8 either.