Beginner Running coach needs advice about a video camera to observe a runners posture

Name
Graeme
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello,

I am a qualified running coach who knows nothing about cameras.

The objective is to take videos of runners, outdoors, so that the runners posture can be later analysed in slow motion and feedback given to the runner. (I can use video editing software to crop the video, run in slow motion etc)

I have tried to do this using an old camera I have that takes videos, but did not get workable results. In order to get a sufficient length of the run in the video (About 30m to 40m), I had to stand so far away that the runner is a miniature object in the subsequent video, too small to effectively observe. For example we need to see the exact moment the foot touches the ground and what the rest of the body is doing at that moment..

My guess is that I need a video camera with a wide angle lens? Is that the right term? That might sound daft but I don't know how else to describe it. How do you measure wide angle and tell if a video camera has it?

We don't need incredibly high quality, but do need to observe in slow motion.

Can anyone suggest a way forward for me please? I really have no clue how to look for a video camera that can do what we want.

Thank you for your help

Graeme

Good effort! Thank you. But no, I will be standing still with the camera on a tripod. Not as much fun but there we are!

what Simon is suggesting is that a Gopro will actually work for what you trying to do.
Go onto you tube and watch some videos

Righto @Diving Pete - I stand to be convinced! Just can't imagine how the camera will be sufficiently stable to take a video while moving on a bike. Its the detail I need. Will try and find some videos on you tube using gopro

When you trained to be a qualified running coach did they not cover how to do this.

Can the person of people who trained you not be contacted and asked.