Settings for motorsport

Edit My Images
Yes
I'm going to Brands Hatch on Wednesday for the first bit of motorsport photography I've ever done.

Has anyone got any tips about settings to use?

I'm still a bit of a noob, so any advice greatly appreicated.

What's the slowest shutter speed I will get away with? I'm hoping to take most of my shorts on a tight corner, so hopefully the cars will be going reasonably slow.

Also, what type of focussing should I use, and what metering?

Cheers everyone.

Have a search for a guide i made for brands before going.

You can pan as slow as 1/5th or even slower. However if your new to motorsport/panning i would suggest starting about 1/200th and maybe trying to get down to 1/125th.

The catch with shooting at a slower corner (inside of druids is a good spot) however as you rightly say, the cars go slower. This means you need a slower shutter speed to make them look like they are going fast.

Metering, centre weighted or multi segment should do, depending on if its foggy or if the cars are black.

You will get the hang of it pretty fast, its not that hard really. Have a good time, no idea what will be on track, maybe one of the touring car teams, BSB team, Truck and some other bits and pieces.

Dont know your camera but if it has A1 Servo use it,shutter speed i would start about 1/125th & check for sharpness & wheel motion & then try & bring it down a bit.:)

Have a search for a guide i made for brands before going.

You can pan as slow as 1/5th or even slower. However if your new to motorsport/panning i would suggest starting about 1/200th and maybe trying to get down to 1/125th.

The catch with shooting at a slower corner (inside of druids is a good spot) however as you rightly say, the cars go slower. This means you need a slower shutter speed to make them look like they are going fast.

Metering, centre weighted or multi segment should do, depending on if its foggy or if the cars are black.