Sigma 105mm vs Canon EF 100mm for macro

Name
Nicolas
Edit My Images
Yes
well I've been looking for a good macro lens to do some extreme close up shots of bugs and was wondering what is the better out of the two lenses the only other lens i can find for macro shots is canon MP-E 65mm but that is a over my budget but it does look like a great lens i was wondering weather it would be worth me saving for or if the other two will suffice mainly I'll be taking little bug shots so which is the best out of the lenses?? (also any example shots would be great to look at!)
Thanks for any help(y)

There's lots of choices - Sigma 70mm, Sigma 150mm, Canon EF-S60mm, Tamron 90mm.

All of them produce great results so it's really a matter of if you'd use it for anything other than macro and/or price.

I have the Canon 100mm and some say it should be L glass, I know mine is very good, I have no experience of the Sigma, I once tried Sigma but it caused error messages on my LCD so I stay clear(y)

The MPE 65 is a fantastic lens and a true macro lens at that, produces fantastic images, my buddy uses one although he uses a Manfrotto head to adjust focus when on the tripod, he says it allows finer adjustment:shrug:

I will be using it only for macro shots I was just wondering if anyone knows the maximum focus on a mp-e 65mm And if it is any good for water shots??

I suspect the MPE-65 isn't the best choice for water shots as the min. magnification is 1:1 you'd be filling most of the frame with the drop, no chance of getting a splash in there too.

The maximum focus distance for the mpe-65 is 100mm, at that you will get a maximum DOF of 2.25mm so I would imagine it would be virtually imposible to use for water drop shots.